The Security Enhanced Directory Manager features enhanced security and control on user management.
Simply go to System Settings -> Directory Manager Settings to enable and configure.
Figure 1: Security Enhanced Directory Manager Properties
Once the plugin is enabled, users' password would be stored using a new encryption method. Disabling the plugin would cause all the users not to be able to login anymore as the default encryption method is effectively changed.
If you decide to stop using the plugin, you will need to replace all the affected users' password in dir_user table with a new password based on md5 hash.
Setting up the Notification tab in this Enhanced Security Directory Manager is important and highly recommended. Do not skip the setup and remember to test sending email out to make sure that the email server settings is correct.
Email notification will be sent out on these important events:
- User Creation: email is sent when the admin creates a new user in "Setup User".
- Password Reset: email is sent when the admin resets the user's password by checking the "Force Password Change" checkbox in "Setup Users > Edit User > Admin Setting".
- Forgot Password: email is sent when the user clicks the forget password link on the login page.
- Account Lockout: email is sent when the wrong password exceeds the limit set in "Failed Login Attempts for Account Lockout".